Key Largo, FL – Pillar Coral, Eagle Rays and Turtles

I came down to Key Largo to get experience with my new dive computer and take photographs. Once again I have been divng with Rainbow Reef Dive Center.
I hear the seas are usually calm this time if the year, we have had 2 to 4 foot waves so far. The sun and waves have been making the boating a little rough but the diving has been fantastic. I have been lucky enough to get some great photographs.
On Friday we made a visit to Pillar Coral Ridge. This is one of the last places in the Florida Keys where Pillar Coral can be found. Like other coral, environmental pressues have been taking its toll on the Pillar Coral.
Me at Pillar Coral Ridge
Pillar Coral
I can’t believe how lucky I have been to see many Spotted Eagle Rays and a Sea Turtle.
Eagle Rays
Saturday I had one come within three feet of me. It was so amazing!
Spotted Eagle Ray
I was also extreamly lucky to get a close up shot of a Green Sea Turtle. I have been trying for three years to get turtle photos like these.
Sea Turtle
Sea Turtle
Rainbow Reef Divemaster Eric and a Sea Turtle

One thought on “Key Largo, FL – Pillar Coral, Eagle Rays and Turtles

  1. Pingback:   Animals | State Park to offer turtle program — Recycle Email

Leave a comment